Zebras Pictures
www.GotPetsOnline.comAdvertise here

Web Page Maker

There are three living species of Zebras: Plains, Desert, and Mountain. The different species display various striping patterns and live within different areas of Africa.

Zebras - Description and Range

Plains Zebras have broader stripes that travel north to south, smaller ears, and shorter heads than the other two species. They look like ponies and range from 11-13 hands (44-52 inches) at the withers. There are four sub species of the Plains Zebra: Grant's and Bohm's Zebra (Equus burchelli boehmi); Selous' Zebra (Equus buchelli selousi); Damaraland and Chapman's Zebra (Equus burchelli antiquorum); and, Burchell's Zebra (Equus burchelli burchelli). The Plains Zebra has an estimated population of 300,000. They roam the Savannah's in Eastern and Central Africa. They have mouths that allow them to eat all types of grass from short and tender to tall and rough. Their digestion system requires that they eat and drink often.
 Zebras - Pictures
Picture source:
Oregon Zoo Animals

Grevy's Zebras are the largest of all the Zebras. Their stripes are narrow and placed close together. They have a dorsal type of stripe that is bordered by a white stripe on both sides. The Grevy's ears are curved and long. They have long legs and a long erect black-tipped mane. They stand between 55-57 inches and may weigh as much as 880lbs (400kg). The smaller range of the Grevy Zebra consists mostly of Northern Kenya. Their range can also continue into Ethiopia and Somalia. They must also drink frequently, but are more accustomed to drier climates. They can dig water holes if needed. Another notable difference between the Plains Zebra and the Grevy Zebras is territorial issues. The Grevy is territorial, but the Plains Zebra is not. The Grevy stallions will indicate their territories with urine, feces and by braying. These groups consist of mares with young, herds without a stallion, and lone adult males. Breeding will always take place within the territory. Mountain Zebras are the third species of Zebra. They are easily recognizable by a flap, known as a dewlap, which is on the base their neck. Their stripes continue all the way to the hooves and are broad. The Mountain Zebra has two subspecies: Cape Mountain Zebra (Equus Zebra Zebra) and Hartmann's Mountain Zebra (Equus Zebra hartmannae). The Mountain Zebra is smaller, normally standing no higher than 12 hands (48 in) at the withers. They do not form large herds, but do exercise a harem social structure. They inhabit the mountain ranges of southern Africa. Today, Mountain Zebras are an endangered species with 5,000 or less left in the wild.

Copyright © 2001-2010 www.zebras-zebras.com All rights reserved.

White zebra pictures are one type of rare creature you'll find on a big pet site; visit one now and find your favorite picture.

  Zebra - Pictures
Zebra - Links
Zebra - Zoos
Zebra - Home